President's Welcome

170313 Commmonwealth Day Multi-Faith Celebration - reading PM's message.jpg

Welcome to the website of the Royal Commonwealth Society (RCS), Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Branch.  Here you can learn more about our activities and work promoting the values of the modern Commonwealth of Nations and its 52 member countries.

One of the Commonwealth’s greatest strengths is its wide range of civil society organisations. 

The RCS is an international network of individuals and organisations committed to improving the lives and prospects of Commonwealth citizens across the world.  It promotes the value and the values of the Commonwealth, championing human rights, democracy and sustainable development

We in the Branch are committed to doing what we can to promote and support these objectives.  

Colin Milner, RCS ACT President

RCS RCS COVER 2-01.png

Branch Council

The Royal Commonwealth Society ACT Branch relies on our wonderful volunteers. If you have an interest in helping out on the council, or organising a special project please get in touch!

We are especially interested in hearing from any young people who want to get more involved. 





Mr Colin Milner


Mrs Maureen Hickman


Mrs Ann Sutton

Council Members

Dr Hugh Craft OAM

Mr Kanti Jinna OAM MoF JP

Ms Holly Halford-Smith

Dr Elmo Jacob

Mr Jack Milne

Mr Bradley Innes

Mr Saurabh Singh

RCS RCS COVER 2-01.png

Branch Presidents

Sir William Dunk  (1897-1984), First RCS ACT President

Sir William Dunk (1897-1984), First RCS ACT President


1958-1960 Sir William Dunk 

1961-1962 Air Chief Marshal Sir Frederick Scherger

1963-1963 Mr H Clive Newman

1964-1966 Prof H Sydney Hodges 

1967-1968 Mr J Keith Lawrence 

1969-1969 Dr Bruce Lambert

1970-1970 Mr Ian McKillop 

1970-1971 Mr Thomas M Owen 

1972-1973 Colonel John Watch 

1974-1976 Sir Alan Turner 

1977-1979 Dr Richard G Dodson 

1980-1981 Mr Bryan Yates 

1982-1983 The Rev Dr Peter F. Rudge 

1984-1986 Mr John Smith 

1987-1989 Mr John Horan 

1990-1992 Mr Martyn Finger 

1993-1995 Mrs Phyllis Montgomerie 

1996-1998 Mr Hugh Craft 

1999-2001 Dr Ken Edmondson 

2002-2004 Mrs Phyllis Montgomerie 

2005-2005 Mr Kevin Squair (Chairman) 

2006-2013 Dr Hugh Craft

2014-2016 Mr Kanti Jinna