2020 Phyllis Montgomerie Commonwealth Award

Applications are invited for the 2020 Royal Commonwealth Society’s Phyllis Montgomerie Commonwealth Award. The award, of up to $5000, is intended to help with expenses, including travel, associated with a research or education project to be conducted in a Commonwealth country, including Australia.


There is no restriction on the field of study or endeavour, nor are applications restricted to university students. Projects should have the potential for demonstrable benefit for the subjects of the study and Commonwealth member states. Applications must also include a clear statement of objectives and identifiable outcomes.


To be eligible, applicants must be:

  • Australian citizens

  • Residents of the Australian Capital Territory

  • If students, graduate or higher degree

How to Apply

Please click on the link below for an online application form. The closing date for applications is Friday 18 October 2019. The successful applicant will be notified before the end of November 2019.

RCS RCS COVER 2-01.png

Online Application Form

Interested in applying? Applications must be completed using the online application form by the deadline. Read the criteria on the application form. Unfortunately we cannot accept late applications. 

Previous Winners 

We are tremendously proud of our previous Phyllis Montgomerie Award winners. Check out biographies of past winners and find out more about their important research and work. 

RCS RCS COVER 2-01.png